Sunday, December 23, 2007

Facelift for PMP® and CAPM® Score Reports

Please note that recent change to PMP score reports. To me, this seems to be a good idea where more details on your scores will be provided if you fail the test. More information, you may want to refer to PMI website.

With the launch of the PgMPSM credential on 1 October 2007, PMI instituted a new look for its score reports. This new look will also appear on the PMP and CAPM score reports by the end of the year.

Q: What information is provided on the new score report?

A: Just as before, there are two levels of information provided. One is the overall examination results, which will tell you whether you passed or failed. The other is a diagnostic representation of your proficiency level per domain for PMP and PgMP and by chapter for CAPM. Each domain or chapter is accompanied by one of three possible proficiency levels—Proficient, Moderately Proficient, and Below Proficient.

Q: Why did PMI change the score report?

A: PMI improved how the diagnostic results are presented in the score reports. Instead of percentages by domain/chapter, PMI is instituting global best practices in examination administration by using proficiency levels.

Q: How can the proficiency levels guide my professional development?

A: The proficiency levels serve as an aid in measuring your knowledge in specific areas of study and practice. For example, if your result is Below Proficient in one of the domains/chapters, you then know what you need to study to improve.

Q: What else has changed in PMI’s examination practices?

A: Nothing. The credential examinations remain the same.

Q: Does the change in the score report indicate a different score or standard to pass the examination?

A: No. Results are based on the same scoring standards as before. This means that people who receive the new score report are evaluated the same way as those who received the old score report.

Q: Do I have to be proficient in every domain in order to pass the examination?

A: No. There are not a minimum or maximum number of domains in which you need to demonstrate proficiency in order to pass the exam. Your pass/fail rate is determined based on your overall performance, not on how many questions you answered right or wrong in a particular domain.


Unknown said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
Unknown said...

Very insightful article. I came across which has some great free resources. They also have a free test which can gauge your readiness to take the pmp exam. PMP Certification

Suggested Study Materials

  • PMP-Preparation Recommended Books
  • PMP Exam Prep, Fifth Edition: Rita's Course in a Book for Passing the PMP Exam
  • A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge, Third Edition (PMBOK Guides)
  • The PMP Exam: How to Pass On Your First Try (Test Prep series)